Testing Information and Dates

Assessments required by the state and federal governments include:
TELPAS - Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) and TELPAS Alternate is administered to assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students, also referred to as English learners (ELs), make in learning the English language. Only students classified as LEP/ELs take TELPAS or TELPAS Alternate.
STAAR - The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in spring 2012, includes annual assessments for
  • reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
  • writing at grades 4 and 7
  • science at grades 5 and 8
  • social studies at grade 8
  • end-of-course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, biology and U.S history.
STAAR Alt 2 - TEA has developed the STAAR Alternate 2 assessment to meet the federal requirements mandated under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), a federal education law previously known as No Child Left Behind. TEA designed the STAAR Alternate 2 to assess students in grades 3–8 and high school who have significant cognitive disabilities and are receiving special education services.
Students who entered Grade 9 in Fall 2012 or later will graduate under STAAR testing requirements.
STAAR Score Results and Portal Access
Optional Assessments:
CBE - The Texas Education Code (TEC), §28.023, allows students in primary grades to accelerate a grade level and students in secondary academic courses to earn credit for a course on the basis credit by examination. Credit-by-examination assessments (CBEs) must be approved by each local board of trustees. Testing opportunities for students who are testing without prior instruction have four testing opportunities per year – Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer.
For more specific testing dates, please check with your student's campus.