Nurse Annelle Graham
Welcome to the Bonnette Jr. High Clinic Information page. To the left you will find links to answers of the most frequently asked questions, as well as the Texas State Vaccine requirements. All students entering the 7th grade must show proof of the following: Tdap vaccine within the last 5 years, Meningococcal vaccine, and either a history of Varicella (Chicken Pox disease) or 2 doses of Varicella vaccine, both received after the first birthday. All students entering the 6th grade must show proof of 2 doses of Hepatitis A vaccine. Please be sure to turn in any new immunization records to your school nurse so she can update your child’s health records.If you recently received a letter from the nurse, but think your child has already had the required vaccines, please send a copy of that immunization record to the nurse so she can update your childs health record.Parents: Act early! Avoid vaccine shortages in the summer and take your child over Spring break, or sometime before the end of this school year to receive their immunizations before the beginning of the next school year. There will be no exceptions to the requirements rule - the State of Texas will enforce all immunization rules for the upcoming new school year. Local clinics and locations for low cost vaccines are listed in the clinic website.Any questions? You can contact the nurse at: firstname.lastname@example.org.It’s cold and flu season !!! PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO SCHOOL WITH FEVER, VOMITING OR DIARRHEA. Fever is often an indicator of an infectious process. Remember that your child is not the only student in the school - please be considerate of others and protect your own child AND others by keeping your sick students at home.The best way to avoid getting sick is to wash your hands often and avoid exposure to sick people. The flu vaccine is the best way to protect against the flu. The CDC recommends that all children from the ages of 6 months up to their 19th birthday get a flu vaccine every fall or winter. Flu vaccine is available NOW for all ages. Contact your local clinic or healthcare provider.
The 24 Hour Rule
· NO CHILD CAN ATTEND SCHOOL IF THEY HAVE HAD FEVER (over 100 degrees), DIARRHEA, OR VOMITING WITHIN THE LAST 24 HOURS.
· Giving medications to reduce fever does not make them fever-free; it only hides the fever. Therefore, students with fever must be fever-free for 24 hours WITHOUT THE USE OF MEDICATIONS before returning to school. (Mom-hand measurements of fever are not accepted as accurate. Please purchase a thermometer for home use to insure accuracy.)
· This time of year, head lice seems to be a prominent problem. With cold weather comes winter garments, such as hats, hoodies, and scarves. It is important that your child does not share these clothing articles (as well as hair brushes, hair bands/bows, ribbons, etc.) to avoid both passing head lice to others or getting them. To effectively treat for head lice, remember to treat the environment as well: wash all linens (sheets, pillowcases, shams, etc.) in hot water, and treat or dispose of hygiene articles such as hairbrushes, combs, clips, ribbons, etc. Vacuum sofa cushions or any other furniture, and treat with the appropriate lice treatment spray for furniture/upholstery. Remember to recheck your child's hair and scalp every 7 days. Nits that were overlooked from the initial treatment will hatch approximately every 7 days and can begin another infestation. Remember to check ALL family members if your child has lice - anyone can get them, not just kids!!!